So Young, etc.

I went to see The Corrs last week on their White Light tour at the SSE Hydro in Glasgow. It was such a wonderful night, and I wanted to share some photos and thoughts about nostalgia and the power of music in memory.

Like Shania Twain and the Spice Girls, The Corrs featured heavily on my childhood playlists. I think I vaguely remember one early birthday when a neighbour made me a mix-tape of all the great 90s pop songs and we danced around to So Young and Cher’s Do You Believe in Life after Love. I went to see The Corrs at one point too in Northern Ireland with my family, though can’t really remember it. Which is why it was all the more inspiring and refreshing to go to their concert now, aged 22, and still remember full songs off by heart. It seems that, whilst school books and grammar lessons will pass in and out of our minds and lives as we grow up, songs have this continuously magical power to embed themselves in our minds and suddenly find new life at any given point, reconnecting us with the past. Going to see a childhood favourite band provided the perfect mix of nostalgia, whilst still somehow situating me firmly in the present.

DSC00054

Despite my friend and I being a generation younger than most of the other audience members, I think it was one of the most fun concerts I have been to. A sign of age perhaps…? Gone are the days when the 16-year-old Anna loved nothing more than being crammed up at the front of crowds, only catching a glimpse of then favourites 30 Seconds to Mars or You Me At Six over tall guys who had no control over their beer cups. The adrenaline rush that came with the mosh pits and head banging was so much fun, but the more demure atmosphere of The Corrs concert was appreciated with the new, sophisticated Anna of 22. We had great seats, and could enjoy our pints without worrying they would end up on our dresses. I had such a good view the whole time, unimpeded by those taller than me, which for the most part is the majority of the crowd. The room fell silent whilst Andrea’s voice carried across the auditorium, as the band performed traditional Irish songs amongst the pop classics. The crowd had such a connection with the band and were able to enjoy the music in all it’s pure and effortless allure.

The highlight of the concert was probably the instrumental Irish folk songs which progressed from a slow, smooth lilt to an upbeat jig, all against a background that showed changing images of Irish countryside and Dublin city. It was lovely to see a band so connected with their heritage, and the performance was full of emotion. This traditional music, weaving through the classic 90s and newer material, really made the night incredibly special, and it was impossible not to relate to my own heritage. Being in a concert hall with hundreds of other people and still being able to connect with some personal message, that’s what makes a great gig. And now, I can’t stop listening to The Corrs. They are my new, old favourite thing.

 

Leave a Reply

