Trick or Treat?

It’s Halloween! All hallows’ evening! My favourite holiday of the year has finally come round again.

Trick-or-treating, fancy dress parties, carving pumpkins. I have so many great memories of Halloween; from the earlier years of my mum taking me guising round the neighbours’ after school, to my trick-or-treating prime, preparing dances and writing poems to perform with my friends as we wowed our fellow villagers with our skills, to the later fancy dress parties and themed club nights, throwing shapes that put the Monster Mash to shame.

10519731_10205224349106505_3757498254650667832_nMost of all, what I really love about Halloween is designing that perfect costume. I start planning at least a month ahead. I love the sheer fun of creating a new persona, going crazy with gothic makeup and fake blood (for my costume, the scarier the better). A real wuss at heart, I’m never one for watching gory horror films or venturing off to find witches in the forest (hello, Blair Witch projectees, you walked right into that one), but I do love getting creative with makeup and macabre effects, transforming myself into a psychotic doll, a classic witch or vampire, an evil harlequin, or this year’s Sally Skellington from The Nightmare Before Christmas. As much as I love any fancy dress, there is something particularly fun about creating something creepy. So here is a mini check-list for my guide to making a great, scary Halloween costume this year.

You will need:

  1. An ounce of creativity – I look to Pinterest / YouTube for costume and makeup inspiration.
  2. A dollop of scar wax (Silicone modelling compound, liquid latex or other wax found in fancy dress shops) – Perfect for creating those life-like wounds, Chelsea smiles and Frankenstein stitching.
  3. A palette of face paint – Face paints are so much fun! You can get sets now that have base colours as well as crayons for drawing on detail. Either follow a tutorial on YouTube or go with the flow and make something up yourself; the great thing about Halloween makeup is that it doesn’t have to be perfect!
  4. A spritz of hair spray – You’ll need to hold that crazy ‘do in shape so it lasts all night. Also, coloured hair spray can be really effective if you don’t want to go all out and get a wig.
  5. A gallon of fake blood – Let’s be real, every good costume needs fake blood. More is more.

So those are my top must-haves for creating a perfectly spooky Halloween look. Hope you have as much fun putting your costume together as I do!

Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

